Commit ccb7a71d authored by Jiri Olsa's avatar Jiri Olsa Committed by Arnaldo Carvalho de Melo
Browse files

perf data: Fail check_backup in case of error



And display the error message from removing the old data file:

  $ perf record ls
  Can't remove old data: Permission denied (perf.data.old)
  Perf session creation failed.

  $ perf record ls
  Can't remove old data: Unknown file found (perf.data.old)
  Perf session creation failed.

Not sure how to make fail the rename (after we successfully remove the
destination file/dir) to show the message, anyway let's have it there.
Signed-off-by: default avatarJiri Olsa <jolsa@kernel.org>
Tested-by: default avatarArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
Cc: Adrian Hunter <adrian.hunter@intel.com>
Cc: Alexander Shishkin <alexander.shishkin@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Alexey Budankov <alexey.budankov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Namhyung Kim <namhyung@kernel.org>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Stephane Eranian <eranian@google.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190224190656.30163-8-jolsa@kernel.org

Signed-off-by: default avatarArnaldo Carvalho de Melo <acme@redhat.com>
parent 5021fc4e
......@@ -41,12 +41,27 @@ static int check_backup(struct perf_data *data)
return 0;
if (!stat(data->path, &st) && st.st_size) {
/* TODO check errors properly */
char oldname[PATH_MAX];
int ret;
snprintf(oldname, sizeof(oldname), "%s.old",
data->path);
rm_rf_perf_data(oldname);
rename(data->path, oldname);
ret = rm_rf_perf_data(oldname);
if (ret) {
pr_err("Can't remove old data: %s (%s)\n",
ret == -2 ?
"Unknown file found" : strerror(errno),
oldname);
return -1;
}
if (rename(data->path, oldname)) {
pr_err("Can't move data: %s (%s to %s)\n",
strerror(errno),
data->path, oldname);
return -1;
}
}
return 0;
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment